Mass hoisting license renewal

The Importance Of Renewing Your Massachusetts Hoisters License

103 Views
The State of Massachusetts requires a special license to be able to operate air and electric powered cranes, booms, forklifts. excavators, backhoes, unloaders and front-end loaders. Previously called a hydraulic license, the license is now termed the Hoisting License. It requires passing a training course, application, test, reaching the age of 18 and fees to obtain this license.

There is an exemption for strictly agricultural operations, but otherwise a valid license is required. Even if you operate on your own property you are required to be licensed, although equipment rental companies may offer special temporary licensing for up to two weeks for qualified individuals renting equipment. The goal is for public safety at all times for Mass hoisting license renewal.

M.G.L. c. 145 § 53 of Massachusetts law states that “anyone who will operate derricks, cableways, machinery used for discharging cargoes, and temporary elevator cars used on excavation work or used for hoisting building material, when the motive power to operate such machinery is mechanical and other than steam, including but not limited to excavators, backhoes, front end loaders, uniloaders, skid loader, skid steer loaders, compact loaders or similar devices, lattice cranes, derricks, cranes with or without wire rope; all forklifts, powered industrial lift trucks, overhead hoists (underhung), overhead cranes, underhung cranes, monorail cranes, lifting devices, cableways, and powered platforms, or any other equipment that has the minimum capability of hoisting the load higher than 10 feet, and either the capability of lifting loads greater than 500 pounds or the capacity of the bucket exceeds 1/4 cubic yards must hold a license from the Department.” See 520 CMR 6.01. Of state codes for Mass hoisting license renewal.

Courses vary in length and cost and are available through a number of providers. In reviewing a few courses offered statewide the operator is looking at approximately $300 for a full day course, including one-on-one instruction, plus test review. This can add up as there are different courses for different equipment, requiring passing each type of equipment operation before being allowed the opportunity to apply for a license and subsequently taking the examination for Mass hoisting license renewal.

The state law requires a minimum number of hours of training be required for each class of license. This is divided into both equipment-specific training and law training. The exams are currently comprised of some 40 multiple-choice questions. A score of 70% correct answers is required to successfully pass. There are currently no practical test components for the exam, but the individual must be signed off for hours completed for equipment-specific training.

The exam is considered tricky, even by the standards of experienced operators. Many of the questions have to do with legal questions about state law requirements. Prep and training classes generally run about 8 hours per session. Each endorsement for equipment operation license requires a separate application and fee, currently set at $75 each. Carrying multiple operator endorsements may cause substantial fees for Mass hoisting license renewal.

Massachusetts state law allows for applicants to sit for one test on each testing date. They have made allowances with testing and training facilities to take multiple tests the same day, allowing the applicants to receive both licenses the same day, rather than make multiple trips.

The license, once obtained, is good for a period of two years. Before renewal, the operator may be required to participate in continuing education courses as added by the state, with at least one overall continuing education course and one for each operating license addendum. Notices are issued by the state at least 30 days prior to the expiration date to allow operators to renew licensing prior to that time. Certificates of Completion for each required continuing education course must be submitted with application renewal forms and required fees.

If a licensed operator does not renew the license before the expiration date, they have a grace period of one year to renew the license. However, they will not be allowed to operate the licensed equipment until they obtain a new license. Failure to comply requires completing all coursework and exams from scratch, with all required costs. To work without a license will cause fines to be levied upon the operator and the employer, which is why Mass hoisting license renewal is imperative.

Hoisting operators normally make an above-average pay rate and are subject to regular pay increases. The classes can be difficult to register, as space can be limited, sometimes with a waiting period of several months. To allow a license completely expire is to create additional, unnecessary financial burdens. Besides the loss of wages, the loss of time and financial outlay may be substantial.

In addition to the course and exam the individual is required to be seen by a DOT approved medical examiner. The DOT Medical Card is a requirement. To allow a license to expire also means that the DOT medical card must be re-obtained.
There are so many workers covered by the Hoisting License. Taken into consideration that it includes so many areas, such as hoisting, excavating, tower operations – electric & air,- derricks & lattice cranes, excavators, forklifts, telescoping boom & cranes, front end loader, unloaders, backhoes, drill rigs, pipeline side booms, compact hoisting machinery, concrete pumps, catch basin cleaners, sign hanging equipment and specialty lawnmowers. It is possible to see so many of these operators on any given day.
When one considers the process to obtain their original; Hoisters License it is hard to understand anyone wanting to repeat the process and expenses. The typical process usually requires from 90 to 120 days. The operator needs a valid driver’s license, the DOT Medical card, must attend the training course, file an application, wait for notification of test date and location and then wait up to 3 weeks for the results. A portion of the time may be redeemed by completing coursework online, but the equipment-specific training is required and cost savings are not really significant.
Once an individual has gone through the process to obtain a Hoisters License it would seem extraordinary circumstances would cause a person to let that license expire. Considering the State of Massachusetts grants a one-year grace period from the original license expiration date. Mass hoisting license renewal is available here both online and in person. Contact us to learn more.

  • 1 Knotty Walk, Taunton, MA 02780
  • Cell: 508-328-3978 | Fax: 508-386-1686
  • glennreagan61@gmail.com