Per Section 65 of Chapter 146, Title XX, Part 1 of the Massachusetts General Laws, anyone who operates hoisting machinery shall apply to the Department of Public Safety for a license. Section 53 further clarifies that people operating cableways, derricks, and machinery used for discharging cargoes or other hoisting equipment, including underhung and overhead cranes, lifting devices, and powered platforms with the capacity to lift loads weighing more than 500 pounds but hold a state-issued license. If you work in an industry that requires the use of hoisting equipment, be sure to first obtain a license to legally operate the equipment. Everyone in the state is held accountable to the same standards and must obtain a license before operating hoisting equipment of any type. Mass hoisting license renewal helps ensure you remain up to code.
Types of Hoisting License Classifications
A total of 14 different licensing classifications are available. These classifications are known as restrictions. The license classification determines the type of hoisting equipment that a person can and cannot use. The types of licenses:
– 1A: the holder may operate all types of hoisting equipment
– 1B: The holder may operate telescoping booms with cables
– 1C: Holder may operate telescoping booms without cables
– 1D: Holder qualifies for forklift safety and operations
– 2A: Holder can operate excavators
– 2B: Holder can operate front-end loaders and backhoes
– 2C: Holder qualifies to operate front end loaders and unloaders
– 2D: Holder can operate compact hoisting machinery
– 3A: Qualifies the holder to operate air-powered and electrical-powered equipment
– 4A: Unrestricted
– 4B: Holder can operate oil rigs
– 4C: Holder can operate pipeline side booms
– 4D: Holder can operate concrete pumps
– 4E: Holder can operate catch basin cleaners
– 4F: Holder can operate sign hangers
– 4G: Holder can operate mowers
Applying for a Hoisting License
Individuals who wish to obtain a hoisting license in the state must complete the entire application process for consideration. The application process involves several steps, all of which are equally important. Failure to complete any of the steps in the application process can cause a delay in the process or even denial of the application. Licensing is available only to adults 18 years old and older who hold a high school diploma or a G.E.D. The applicant must hold a valid driver’s license or state ID issued by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. People from other states cannot apply to receive a license in Massachusetts until first updating their information to the state.
Next, applicants must complete the Hoisting Machinery Application form. The application form is pretty standard, requesting information such as your name, date of birth, social security number, and address. However, several pieces of information should be submitted with the application for approval.
Submit the form with a 2×2 (passport-size) photo headshot. The photo must be a clear shot that shows the top of the head down to the bottom of the chin. A medical certificate from the Massachusetts Department of Transportation is also necessary. The medical certification simply acknowledges that your health is not at risk under the requirements of the job. There is a fee to apply for a hoisting license. This fee must be submitted with the application and other materials. Currently, the fee for the hoisting application is $75. This must be submitted by check or money order. Cash is not accepted as payment for the exam. Mass hoisting license renewal can ensure you are always prepared for ongoing renewal tests.
Hoisting Exam Requirements
A state-issued exam is a next step in acquiring a hoisting machinery license. Applicants who submit their application and get approved by the state will receive a date and time to take the test sent via a letter in the mail. The test is administered on weekdays and cannot be rescheduled. Applicants receive the letter at least two-weeks notice ahead of the test date. Passing the test is imperative in earning a license. Should you not successfully complete the exam, it can be rescheduled again. However, fees are non-refundable. Applicants must adhere to the entire application process again if they do not pass the exam and wish to reapply. The license is valid for a period of two years once it has been issued. A new application process is necessary when it is time to renew the license.
What is Covered on the Exam?
The examination ensures that applicants have appropriate knowledge of hoisting machinery and its components, operation practices, hand signals, and safety. The exam also covers the Massachusetts General Laws about hoisting. Applicants may obtain a copy of the hoisting laws (Chapter 146, Sections 53- 55; 64-67) online or from the local library. The test consists of under 50 multiple-choice questions. Applicants must score 70% or higher to pass the exam and earn their hoisting machinery operator’s license. Although not required, the state also urges applicants to learn OSHA standards ahead of starting a job as a hoisting machine operator. Prior to the exam, Mass hoisting license renewal will help you prepare.
Can I Lose My Hoisting License?
A licensed hoisting operator may have his license revoked at any time by the state is they commit any of the following violations:
– Provide false or misleading information on the hoisting application
– Failure to report accidents or injuries that occur on the job
– Operating hoisting equipment while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
– Failure to comply with the Massachusetts General Law concerning hoisting operations
– Failure to pay taxes on the license or businesses
The state will suspend a license within one week of a violation.
Anyone holding a hoisting operating license must complete continuing education courses so long as they hold the license. Individuals who fail to comply with this requirement before the renewal date may not renew their hoisting license. The continuing education courses must be completed at an entity approved by the Massachusetts Department of Public Safety. The number of continuing education hours required varies according to the license classification. A Uniform Certificate of Completion is issued to individuals who satisfactory complete training. Mass hoisting license renewal can help you ensure your license exams are passed and that you are prepared.